Athassel Priory is the largest medieval priory in Ireland, stretching over a 4-acre (1.6 ha) site. The priory dates back to the late 12th century when it was founded by the Augustinians.
The Bothan Scoir, or as it is known locally Hanleys Cottage, dates from around 1640. It is a one roomed peasants stone cottage. According to research it was built on Lawlers Estate.
The Priory of St Mary, known as ‘Cahir Abbey’, was a house of Augustinian Canons Regular, founded in the last decade of the twelfth century. It was found to have been the parish church.
Cahir Castle is one of the largest castles in Ireland, and is well preserved. It is sited on an island in the River Suir. It was built from 1142 by Conor O’Brien, Prince of Thomond.
Cahir is an attractive and elegant town situated on the River Suir in County Tipperary. Developed around the magnificent 13th century Cahir Castle the town has many interesting sites.
Cahir Park Forest property formed part of the land acquired by the Dept. of Lands from the Charteris Estate in the 1930’s. It was originally acquired by them from the Butlers of Ormonde in the 18th century.
The Camas Park Garden is found in County Tipperary, just a short distance from Cashel. It is an extensive garden featuring herbaceous borders, terraces, and a paved enclosure with walls.
Carrigeen Castle is a Historic castellated (former prison) home, adapted for use as the Bridewell of Cahir, 1812-15. Bedrooms are in former cells and keepers rooms with many original features.
Cashel Folk Village features historical retrospectives of the Irish revolutionary period 1916-1923, the Great Irish Famine 1845-1851. Also featured is a penal chapel containing religious artifacts.
The award winning Heritage Centre and Tourist Office located on the Main Street should be your first stop in Cashel. Accommodation reservations and tourist information available also here.
There is more to Cashel than the Rock, however, as the town’s fine heritage trail illustrates. The town lives an enchanted life under the protection of the Rock of Cashel.
The Celtic Plantarum is located in Dundrum, County Tipperary. It is a magical combination of numerous plants, shrubs and trees, some quite rare with quaint water features.
The monastery of Derrynaflan was founded by St. Rhuadhan of Lorrha in the 6th century. It was important in the 8th & 9th centuries under the patronage of the King-Bishops of Cashel.
The highlands referred to are the Slievenamuck where the car park is situated with excellent views of the Galtee Mountains across the valley. Enjoy scenic landscape with exercise.
Spectacular scenery, top class amenities and a warm welcome await you here at The Glen of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park. We are right in the heart of one of the most picturesque valleys in Ireland.
The Galtee Mountains have long been known as a walkers paradise and the Glen of Aherlow has lots of mapped walking routes across forest tracks and open moorland with spectacular landscape.
The entrance to the Glen of Aherlow Nature Park is adjacent to the Christ the King statue and parking/viewing area, and is marked by an oak panel on supporting posts.
Gortavoher forest rests on Slievenamuck hill, in County Tipperary, which forms one side of the valley of the Glen of Aherlow, the other side being the impressive Galty mountains.
Hore Abbey (also known as St. Mary’s Abbey of the Rock) sits both literally and figuratively in the shadow of the mighty Rock of Cashel. Originally founded by the Benedictine order in 1266.
Nestled in the spectacular scenery of South Tipperary, Killenure Castle is a truly stunning gift from times gone by. It has held a central place in the local community for over five centuries.
Lismacue House, set amid a 200 acre estate, is a classically proportioned Georgian house built c.1760, with original south, redecorated and middle and north blocks added c.1810.
The New Haven Garden is located in Cahir, County Tipperary. It is a large garden with many different rooms on several levels, all spread out on a 1-hectare expanse.
The Rock of Cashel, also known as Cashel of the Kings and St. Patrick’s Rock, is a historic site located at Cashel, County Tipperary. It’s one of Ireland’s most spectacular archaeological sites.
Located at Ardane at the eastern end of the Glen of Aherlow is St Berrihert’s Well. St Berrihert’s Well, a strong spring of water forming a pond about 1.5m deep and 20m across.
St. Pauls Church, Cahir, was built under instruction of the Glengall Butler family and is one of only two known churches designed by the celebrated English architect, John Nash.
Swiss Cottage, a delightful ornamental cottage, was built in the early 1800s by Richard Butler, first Earl of Glengall. It remains an enduring local attraction in South Tipperary.
Detached former rectory, built 1776-84, with attic storey and being three-bay two-storey over half-basement to front and five-bay three-storey to rear. Used as rectory until 1885, now in use as house.
Tipperary Agricultural and Heritage Museum is located in the beautiful village of Golden, situated halfway between the towns of Cashel and Tipperary in the heart of the Golden Vale.
Tipperary Christian Fellowship are a small fellowship in a small town. The fellowship has met in Tipperary town for over 20 years usually on Sunday mornings.
Tipperary Family History Research is an organisation which offer a research service based on the Baptismal and Marriage records of the Catholic Church in the Archdiocese of Cashel & Emly.
Tipperary is an unassuming market town with a surprising depth of heritage. Take a stroll along one or other of its several historic walks – laid out along red, blue, green and orange routes.
Tipperary South Genealogy Centre offer a full search using all the sources available at the centre. These include Civil Records, Church Records, Griffiths Valuation and Gravestone Inscriptions.
Tipperary Racecourse situated at Limerick Junction, in County Tipperary. Flat and National Hunt horse racing take place at Tipperary Races right throughout the year.
In the 7th century, St Alban chose the Glen of Aherlow region as the location for a monastery. The site, known as Toureen Peakaun, features the ruins of a rectangular, 12th century church.
Windmill House is owned by Karen Colbert who sells her watercolour paintings there. Karen also runs courses for those interested in watercolour painting during the summer months.